Cards, Photo Albums and a Share Box.

Day Twenty: The Things We Treasure

Today’s Prompt: Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.


dd

A McDonald’s share box. It comes with a family deal. Now it holds my treasuries. Little trophies of memories those are dear to me. Just thinking about the deal takes me back to the day, I had this dinner with my family. Two Big Macs, a MC Crispy and a MC Chicken, I being the Big Mac lover would obviously get it and other members would manage accordingly, Heck! They were having this McDonald’s dinner just because I had to have this new deal. They were doing this for me.

Sitting on one corner of the shelf mounted on my room’s wall , it reminds me of the times, with my best friends,sharing our favorite meals . It reminds me of the all the reasons over which we bonded. A box of memories. It is a home to greeting cards, Letters and Photo Albums.

It contains different things I have received throughout my life. Eid greetings, Congratulatory wishes., Birthday wishes, Friendship promises, Get well soon-s, apologies, letters and some wrappers. Each of them, a representative of some fond memory. Then it contains Albums containing pictures of my childhood, family gatherings, school trips and college hangouts. Stills of some of the beautiful memories of my life, I never want to forget.

Now, when I see the various Eid cards, it takes me back to the childhood when exchanging Eid cards was a big deal. Everyone would give each other cards before the holidays, even the friends who were not very close. I haven’t seen most of those people after leaving school, a few I see after a year or so,and one has become an essential part of my life now. I love giving cards to my friends because it is an easier way of expressing my feelings. Words are friendly to me when writing, while speaking, well, that’s a different story. I have several friendship cards, almost all of them from my best friend, they contain some promises, some apologies and some expressions of pure love. All these cards remind me of all those people with whom I have spent good times.

Then there are letters. I have done correspondence in the form of letters with one friend, my childhood buddy who shifted to another country for four years. They remind Β me of our childish hand writings, stupid confessions. my life here and her life there and basically growing up together but through letters.

There are also some wrappers in it. Yes, some wrappers which come as a result of a childhood tradition. Its called the “Red Wrappers Day”. Exactly one day before the Valentine’s Day two of my friends at school shared a KitKat and one of them asked to save the wrapper. Out of blur, that moment turned into a promise that we will always wish each other on this day and if possible gift something wrapped in a red wrapper. I don’t know what was it, innocence, stupidity, or the weight of the feeling that school was soon going to end, we all promised and followed the tradition. A friend made sure to send us the gifts wrapped in red wrapping papers, hence the wrappers. After seven years it is now limited to a “Happy Red Wrapper’s Day” text message each year but it is still something to hang on to.

Last thing left are the photographs. They are from different phases of my life, Childhood, school and college until finally it all became digital. Don’t get me wrong I have trillions of photos saved in my computer, some more in my Dad’s old computer, they keep increasing but these albums hold a place just slightly above the digital ones.

The childhood pictures remind me of the innocent, less glamorous times. Some of the people are not in my life anymore like my Grandma. Those pictures also contain my childhood home, the place where I was born and spent the initial eight years. I will always love that house more than any other house. There are pictures of family outings, school trips and college days. Some people are still a part of my life some are just a memory. But I have pictures to relive those times.

These are my treasuries, my prized possessions. Each one of them is a portal to a beautiful memory. I don’t regret any of those memories. They are a reason to smile, a welcomed distraction. They fill my heart with nothing else but warmth.


Final post for Writing101. I enjoyed this thoroughly and I am going to miss it. Thank you all those who read and appreciated. You all are great. Also, yaay for my longest post till now πŸ˜€

15 thoughts on “Cards, Photo Albums and a Share Box.

  1. I love this idea of using a Sharebox! Wow, I loved this post, it was so thoughtful, and original, and it is a great place to store all your memories. Not nearly as creative but I have a folder in which I place all my cards, letters and memories. My favourite ones are on my wall, but I understand how it is so great to have one box with all your beloved items. This had an amazing flow, and I really enjoyed this piece because it’s true, memories are so important. Great way to end the Writing101 course. I loved this piece, and the creativity we could end it off on.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the memories. It really takes me back. Looking through my own old photos in the actual albums, before the digital ones happened are really special. Times when we weren’t aware that the cameras were always running. Nice post

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I miss cards and letters too. I have written so many letters in my time. Some from boarding school to my family. Luckily my mum saved them and now I read them with my daughter and she laughs while I cringe haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We used t have a Remembrance Book, a larger version of an Autograph book but written by people who know you well. I found that as well. Fortunately it was a hard cover book so it has survived over time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thats good.. something else to remember… I also have two autograph books from my school time… there are some pretty childish things in there , give great laughs… but again precious πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I used to love collecting small mementos too. Slowly, as I got busier, I couldn’t keep up with maintaining my collection. Nice story about the value of revisiting precious memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

