Writing 101 Day 11

Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old?Which town, city, and country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?

Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences as you compose your response about the home you lived in when you were twelve.


When I was twelve years old, I lived in the same house and same room I still live in. We had shifted from my birthplace to another city. I was excited for the new stuff happening but I also hated this new place. I had to leave behind friends, memories and my childhood. I used to believe that every bad thing happening to me is because we came to this place but at the same time this new house gave me my first independent room. I was so happy to get it.

The walls were white and the carpet was blue. There was a window on one corner of the left wall, facing the garden outside. The garden is gone now, so is the window. Oh, I miss my window. Initially, our house was constructed on half of the total plot area, half of it had a garden. Eventually, with growing needs of the family the other half was constructed as well.That’s how I lost that window.Now my room is sandwiched between my parent’s and my brother’s.

The house  and my room have gone through minor changes over time. Everything else is pretty much the same. So, when I think about where I lived when I was twelve, I see the same place with few superficial changes. All I can gather is that the place  has changed, the person has changed and the feelings have changed. Still, everything is somehow the same. I miss that window though.


6 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 11

  1. I wonder why you have ‘no feelings’ while writing this post about your shelter for so many years. I would suggest painting a window on your wall and placing a lovely blown up photo of a view you find appealing. Thanks for sharing. tj

    Like

Leave a Reply

