Writing101 day7

Today’s Prompt: Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else.

Today’s twist: write your post in the form of a dialogue.


Anna sat in her trailer, reading the morning newspaper while sipping away warm black coffee. Her co-star on the play, Edwards, and also a good friend walked in.

“Hey, couldn’t wait for me, haan?”, he asked  teasingly.

“You were taking too long in the bathroom. I needed caffeine”, she replied.

“Oh well I was also receiving your mail for you. No need to say thank you I know I am a good friend.” , he said handing over a pile of letters.

“Just put it in that carton over there”, she replied taking in another sip.

“You don’t read your fan mail at all?”  , he asked.

“Nope, I can’t handle the haters”  , she said with a hint of unease in her voice.

“The Annalise Keating, who literally owns the stage when she’s on it and can leave the audience mesmerized for hours by her performance, not to mention a two times tony award winner, is afraid of a few haters? That I extremely doubt are any out there! “, Edwards exclaimed.

“Ed..”, she laughed nervously, “ There are probably a thousand comments, telling me I am great, but if there is one about how my nose looks or my weight, I am done.”

“Anna, you are great you can’t be afraid of a few people who just make such comments because they don’t have anything better to do.”, he said.

“I know, you are probably right, but such comments do bring me down and stay in my head for way more long than required.” She said rolling her eyes. “I know I am a little crazy right?”

“A lot” , he said looking at her admiringly. ”Well, I can read them for you?”

“Hmm, I think I can handle that.” She thought out loud. “But can you please just tell me the good ones, the ones that tell me that I am awesome”, she asked wiggling her eyebrows.

“Of course, I can and I will burn off the bad ones.” , he replied.

“That will do”, she replied taking in the last of her morning coffee.


I took this from an actual interview with a celebrity. I found it very amusing that a great actor like her can actually be affected by such comments. Guess we all have such contrasts in our personalities.I know people who are mostly center of attention of many parties but they hate being in crowds. So, this one is about the contrast with one’s own self.Let me know how I did with the dialogue thingy.

7 thoughts on “Writing101 day7

  1. This is actually very true! No matter how much praise you receive from a thousand people but that one thing that just sticks in your and gnaws at you constantly is always the negative comment/criticism even if it is from one person.. It’s a weird aspect of human psychology.. O.o And you’ve pictured it quite perfectly in this conversation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

